The ethics of research involving animals


Published 24/05/2005

Animal research report cover hugh res
Mouse cages from Understanding Animal Research library

Register of interests

The Nuffield Council on Bioethics is rigorous about ensuring that members of Working Parties declare any interests that might have a bearing on their deliberations. The Council normally publishes registers of interests on its website.

However, in the case of the Working Party on the ethics of research involving animals, constraints have been imposed on the Council’s normal degree of openness. This is because of the history of threats, including violence, to people with direct or indirect links to companies involved with animal research.

The Council has therefore decided not to publish a register of interests of members of this Working Party. However, all relevant interests have been declared to the Council and are known to the Chair of the Working Party.

Membership of the Working Party

Positions held correct at May 2005

Baroness Perry of Southwark (Chairman)

Member of the House of Lords and Pro-Chancellor of the University of Surrey

Professor Kenneth Boyd

Professor of Medical Ethics, University of Edinburgh

Professor Allan Bradley FRS

Director, The Wellcome Trust Sanger Centre, Cambridge

Professor Steve Brown

Director, MRC Mammalian Genetics Unit, MRC Mouse Genome Centre, Medical Research Council, Harwell

Professor Grahame Bulfield

former Director of the Roslin Institute, currently Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering, University of Edinburgh

Professor R D Combes

Scientific Director, Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments

Dr Maggy Jennings

Head of Research Animals Department Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals

Professor Barry Keverne

Director of sub-department of Animal Behaviour, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge

Dr Mark Matfield

Executive Director, The Research Defence Society

Dr Judy MacArthur Clark

Chair, Farm Animal Welfare Council

Professor Ian McConnell

Professor of Veterinary Science, Centre for Veterinary Science, Department of Clinical Veterinary Medicine, University of Cambridge

Dr Timothy H Morris

Head of Animal Ethics and Welfare, GlaxoSmithKline

Professor Martin Raff FRS

MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, University College London and member of the Nuffield Council

Mr Nick Ross

Broadcaster and member of the Nuffield Council

Dr Lewis Smith

Syngenta CTL

Professor John Spencer

Professor of Law, Selwyn College, University of Cambridge

Ms Michelle Thew

Chief Executive Officer, Animal Protection Institute, Sacramento, USA

Professor Jonathan Wolff

Department of Philosophy, University College London